January Recommendations Please…

Before I rudely got distracted by Colin Firth in the previous post I promised you that I would give you a list of all the great gay themed books or great books written by gay authors that I have sat on my shelves (and in some of the boxes) that I haven’t read yet. I would then ask you to say which ones I simply must read first… so that is what I shall do! It’s not all the books I have to get through, I just thought this list would do for now.

  • Skin Lane – Neil Bartlett
  • Parallel Lies – Stella Duffy
  • Footnotes to Sex – Mia Farlane
  • The Well of Loneliness – Radclyffe Hall
  • Carol – Patricia Highsmith
  • The Indian Clerk – David Leavitt
  • Hell’s Belles – Paul Magrs
  • Michael Tolliver Lives – Armistead Maupin
  • Queens – Pickles
  • The First Person & Other Stories – Ali Smith
  • Mothers & Sons – Colm Toibin
  • Fingersmith – Sarah Waters
  • Hotel du Dream – Edmund White

So what are your thoughts which book should I have a crack at next? One or two of them are already my favourites to be read next I wonder if you can guess which? Now I will leave this topic open to you until Monday! Let me know your thoughts.

~ by greatgayreads on January 13, 2010.

3 Responses to “January Recommendations Please…”

  1. well, not that I don’t want you to read Parallel Lies (!), but Skin Lane is still one of my top book picks. Neil’s a gorgeous writer and this may well be his best. You have a lovely list though, get o with them!
    Stella

    • I do desperately want to read the Neil Barlett but might save that as my book group choice for three months time and then twelve people will read it, plus thinking its unlikely anyone will have read it and hope can convert them whilst being a bit different. we will see…

  2. good call!

Leave a Reply

 
