When Clarri Met Sally

I have always wanted to read the legendary Virginia Woolf  but at the same time have always been rather intimidated by her. However due to a challenge I put myself up for last year it ended up that myself and ‘Mrs Dalloway’ would have a brief dalliance.  Sadly as much as I hoped to love the book, especially as I have always wanted to read it after seeing the stunning film of The Hours, I didn’t really enjoy it (please visit my other bookish blog for thoughts on that today). The writing is wonderful, I just didn’t like any of the characters. Clarissa needed a ‘good wake up shake’ and only Septimus was interesting but… well… I won’t give anything away!

So why on earth am I writing about it here? Well because as I mentioned the writing is utterly stunning and because of Virginia’s wonderful writing of  a love that dare not speak it’s name. When told Virginia Woolf beautifully describes the emotions that Clarissa Dalloway feels for Sally Seton and its just wonderfully, wonderfully written and pitch perfect. For that alone I have to recommend it here on The Great Gay Reads, how could I not?

A small post today, but don’t forget to scroll down and let me know your recommendations on some reads below!

~ by greatgayreads on January 15, 2010.

One Response to “When Clarri Met Sally”

  1. Thinking about Woolf’s “Mrs. Dalloway,” you should check out Katherine Mansfield’s short story, “Bliss.” It’s short, so you can read it pretty quickly with a low amount of commitment of time, and some of the tropes (with the story preceding “Dalloway”) resonate in Woolf. Very interesting stuff!

Leave a Reply

 
